Markets in Damascus

When I look at my pictures of Damascus I always wonder – was it that real. And sometimes I have a feeling that this world is still like a dream – a good dream. Sometimes people asked me ‘How was in Damascus’ and I could tell you – it wasn’t that so bad apart from everything. I arrived there at the beginning of August, 2011 with so many dreams and hope. After few months everything turned upside down and I had to leave. Between that time I had a chance to get to now much more about the culture of Syria. I found that there is something unique  at the markets, souks and bazaars and they are parts of the culture also. Here are some pictures of my unforgettable journey at the markets in Damascus – Hamidye suk, Street markets, Suleymaniye market and many others.

Thousand shoes at Hamidye market

Thousand shoes at Hamidye market

At the Hamidye souk, Old Damascus

At the Hamidye souk, Old Damascus

Damascus shisha

Damascus shisha

Steet market between two cars in Old Damascus

Street market between two cars in Old Damascus

Dried fruits, Hamidye souk, Old Damascus

Dried fruits, Hamidye souk, Old Damascus

Olives at the market

Olives at the market

Various spices and herbs in market stall bazaar, Souk Hamidiye, Damascus

Various spices and herbs in market stall bazaar, Souk Hamidiye, Damascus

Pricky pear cactus in Damascus

Pricky pear cactus in Damascus

Figs on the street market in Damascus

Figs on the street market in Damascus

Boutique shop in Old Damascus

Boutique shop in Old Damascus

Shopkeeper in Old Damascus

Shopkeeper in Old Damascus

Tekkiye Suleymaniye market

Tekkiye Suleymaniye market

Leave a Reply

